Uncategorized

Sunday recap

Once again, it’s been a rough week. We started out with bad, icy winter weather last week. Monday ended up being a short day for me, only worked 4 1/2 hours, when I would normally have worked 8 1/2 hours. I didn’t mind too much, but I am sure I will mind when my paycheck comes in…

Wednesday saw me driving 3 hours one way to see my mom. She has been ill in the hospital and is still there. It was a bit upsetting to see her so ill and incapacitated and not be able to stay and take care of her. After a quick stop in to see see my grandchildren, it was another 3 hour drive home.

Work has many changes going on, and as most know, change = stress…. enough said.

To top it all off, hubby is in Mexico working and having a rough time with this job site.

So, in order to relieve some stress, I spent Saturday refinishing a side table I recently purchased from an estate sale. I forgot to take pics before I started so I have in-progress pics…

This table was in excellent shape. It is a Thomasville brand table. Real wood and very sturdy, just a little too orangey brown and boring. So I sanded down the top, stained it a darker hickory color and painted the bottom with Paris gray chalk paint, distressed and sealed with a dark wax.

I am wanting to match the finish on the coffee table I refinished a couple of years ago. I think I need to add more gray, tone down the brown of the wax finish to get it closer to the coffee table so I am sure I will be posting the update soon. But after all the work, it felt good to see the results! Definitely one of my favorite stress relievers!!

Hoping this is a better week!!

Leave a comment